Using the Ustream Desktop Broadcaster

The Ustream Broadcaster allows users a quick and easy way to share their desktop screen with their viewers. The broadcaster is a downloadable app.

First, download the app. You can do so from here.

Once the Ustream Broadcaster is downloaded and opened, the application will first automatically check for updates to the software. You will then be able to either take a look at recent changes, or start the application:

Clicking the 'start the app' button will bring you to the event selection screen. Here, you can choose whether or not you wish to start a live broadcast, or make a local recording to your Ustream channel.

The next screen will ask you to choose the Ustream channel you wish to broadcast or record to, and what title you would like to give the broadcast or recording.

Once this is done, you are ready to broadcast (or record). The main console looks like this:

main_screen2.png

Mousing over the main panel will reveal some extra options:

mouseover_main2.png

  • Preview: default setting. Shows current image to be broadcast or recorded.
  • Info: opens info panel- shows network status, broadcast title, and tinyURL for sharing.
  • image source: shows name of image source, in this case FaceTime HD Camera

At the top of the console are 3 options:

  • The 'X' closes the broadcaster. You will be prompted if you are sure you want to quit before it fully closes.
  • The triangle toggles minimizing the broadcast console to a small bar. Note that whether or not this button is toggled, the broadcast console will not appear to your viewers when sharing your screen.
  • Clicking on the "..." opens a dropdown menu allowing you to switch between broadcast and recording mode, open the preferences panel, open a link to the Ustream support center, or quit the Ustream Broadcaster.

When actively broadcasting live or recording, this panel will adjust to show your broadcast status and number of live viewers, or your recording duration.

Below the preview window is a row of additonal options:

Clicking on the microphone icon will mute or unmute your audio source.

The large 'start' button in the middle begins the live broadcast or the recording session.

If you have a USB camera plugged into your computer, you will see a dropdown arrow next to the name of the current camera source and will be able to select between your recognized camera sources.

The two icons to the right determine whether you are currently accessing your onboard camera, or your screen. The circular icon denotes that you are currently accessing your camera. The square monitor icon denotes that you are accessing your computer screen.

Clicking on the monitor icon will allow you to switch to sharing your monitor. After switching, if you have more than one screen available you can hover over the console and choose which screen you wish to share from the dropdown menu that appears in the lower right corner of the preview window. Coming Soon: You will be able to select an individual application window as well as an entire screen. After selecting your screen or window, the screen will now appear in the preview window of the Ustream Broadcaster.

The icon showing the rectangle inside a rectangle allows you to activate the picture-in-picture feature of the Ustream Broadcaster. This will share your screen prominently, your camera in the upper right corner, and a logo of your choice in the lower right. Hovering over the preview window will allow you to adjust any of these three elements on the fly.

 

Before or during your broadcast, you can open the preferences menu as well to determine the resolution you are broadcasting at, the microphone being used, and other basic information about your stream:

When you are ready to finish your broadcast or recording, simply press the 'STOP' button in the middle of the console. You will be given a screen that confirms the ending of your broadcast.

Clicking 'OK' will return you to the main starting menu of the console.

To quit the console, select 'Quit Broadcaster' from the '...' options menu, or simply press the 'X' in the upper left of the console.

Powered by Zendesk